Get To Know Clinton, MO - Jessica Coburn


NAME: Jessica Coburn.


YEARS Clinton: I just celebrated living 20 yrs in Missouri!! 8 in Sedalia, 12 in Clinton.

FAMILY: I was the first of my family to reside in Missouri. I am originally from Washington State, however, in the past few years my mother and my sister have relocated to this area. I had to create my own ‘Clintonian family’ and I’m so blessed to have an amazing support system. Tammy Tennal, Krysti Shoemaker and Amanda Gray are my cohorts.

THE BEST THING ABOUT LIVING IN CLINTON IS: A double-edged sword - Its small-town camaraderie.

OCCUPATION: Medical-Coordinator in Harrisonville.

WHAT I WANTED TO BE WHEN I GREW UP: Everything! I wanted to be a pilot, a history teacher, a therapist, own a coffee shop, etc.

FIRST JOB: I was a waitress at a retirement community in Stanwood, Wa at age 15.

FAVORITE CHILDHOOD MEMORY: Running around, with the other neighborhood hoodlums, chasing baby ducks… and then away from the momma!!

THE BEST TIME OF MY LIFE WAS WHEN: I do not like this question, because I try to see the positivity in all situations. Even the horrible times.

MOST EMBARRASSING MOMENT: Ha! There’s many… one time, a group of friends and our children went out to a local beach. Since we were camping, we had multiple air mattresses that (somehow) ended up in the water. Everyone was running from the sand to the waters edge and jumping onto it. I was forced into joining their game by my children, husband, and best friends taunts. I hyped myself up and ran with my whole might! Right as I jumped, my foot found the only hole on the beach, and I felt myself (in slow motion) flying - Superman Style - over the sand and immediately landed on my stomach with both of my arms outstretched in front of me, looking like I slid into first base… in front of EVERYONE! As a laid there, I heard the cackling of my best friends above the roar of the entire beach!

WHAT DO YOU VALUE MOST IN YOUR FRIENDS: Acceptance of everyone in all walks of life, and their determination to love me especially when I can’t love myself.

YOUR GREATEST FEAR IS: My children finding out that I’m a total fraud! I had/have no idea how to be a parent. I just wing it.

I HOPE I NEVER HAVE TO: Be dependent on my abilities to grow… anything! I run a Hospice House for plants. If anyone wants their greenery to die slowly and gently… I’m your girl!

I’VE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO: See the East Coast. Fly to another country. Purchase a passport. See the ball drop at Times Square, Eat a lobster from Maine....

IF I WON THE LOTTERY, I WOULD: Do all of the above.

MY DREAM TRIP WOULD BE TO: Italy. I want to own a vineyard and be an American Hippie living in Italy!

HOBBIES: Art… any type. I enjoy learning ALL of it!

FAVORITE BAND OR MUSICIAN: I enjoy most types of music. After 20 years of living in Missouri, I’m beginning to like country music.

FAVORITE MOVIE: The Princess Bride and Monte Python and the Holy Grail.


FAVORITE SNACK: Depends on the situation and environment. But, it will most likely be something salty.


FUTURE GOAL: I am soon going to school to obtain a Masters in Social Work.

WHICH PERSON DO YOU ADMIRE MOST: My grandpa: James Franklin Coburn. He is my hero.

ADVICE YOU WOULD GIVE YOUR YOUNGER SELF: Figure out who the heck you are before you give yourself to anyone, otherwise you’ll end up places you never meant to be.

WORDS TO LIVE BY: “I don’t mind living in a man’s world as long as I can be a woman in it.”